Breathing Room

I am an avid blog reader, especially when it comes to small business suggestions and such because I feel most of the time like I need all the help I can get! But there are other blogs that I read for my soul, for my sanity, and for inspiration.

“I’ve been thinking recently that queer time for me is a self-declared snow day. A chance to stay in bed and explore ourselves unhindered by the outside world. A chance to exist, to play — free from the hetero pillars of career, marriage, and lineage. A break from the ticking clock of larger society’s notions of progression.”

“I did not have an image of what I could become. My path forward never felt like a chronological progression towards a fixed point. But rather a whole lot of fumbling self-discovery. An erratic and uneasy becoming.”

I have spent my entire life in this space of uncertainty and fumbling.. I have never heard it explained so clearly. I have never felt so understood by a kindred spirit who has experienced the same struggles. It helps to feel like I’m not alone in my struggle for self understanding.

“This trajectory of constant reinvention is something that I believe is common among queer people. Queer people, on average, own homes, graduate college, and settle in careers later than their heterosexual counterparts.”

This bit makes me wonder about the home we bought.. We were so excited (my room mates and I) about owning our own home, about being “grown ups” and responsible. I wonder now, reading this passage – myself and two of my roommates being queer – if maybe we would have still made that choice if not for the desperation of feeling “normal”. Feeling like we were doing “what we should be” for our ages..

I have not had many friends or even acquaintances in the queer community, so there was never any idea that “queer time” was a thing.. It makes so much sense to me now. When everyone else is “growing up”, we are still struggling through self-acceptance and learning to understand why we are so different from our friends and family..

“Queer time is a bushwhacked path, a sled’s shaky trail, a web of continual reinvention in many different directions.”

Truer words…

 

~Seth

** The quoted passages are from “The Pace of Queer Time

 

Leave a comment